Skip to content

Protected Characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 has identified nine protected characteristics that you need to bear in mind to ensure you protect everyone from discrimination. As an employer not only do you have the responsibility of ensuring your company rules and regulations do not discriminate but your employees and suppliers also comply with the law.  There are 7 Types of Discrimination that you need to consider.

Watch the video then feel free to request the templates I am happy to share.

1. Recognise the 9 characteristics that are protected by UK law.

9 Protected Characteristics.001

2. Recognise the 7 types of discrimination under UK law

9 Protected Characteristics.002

3. Using the template, audit your company policies and procedures to ensure they specifically protect the 9 characteristics and illustrate 7 types of discrimination

9 Protected Characteristics.003

4. And don’t forget to communicate how an employee should raise a grievance should they feel they are being discriminated against

Please do share your experiences with these models in the comments below.  I am building a portfolio of small business case studies and would love to include examples of what has worked well for you.

PS – If you need further help then give me a call on 07962 626604 to arrange a Skype session with me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: